Book Club

Hard Truths heading

Based on the idea from Huda Yusuf (who was on our panel for “Ask a Muslim Woman”) in November 2017 we will begin a book club in partnership with the Ramsey County Library – Roseville.  The best part is – Huda is going to lead it!

If you looking for a way to connect with other people who want to discuss issues of social justice, join your neighbors and fellow community members in reading, discussing and educating ourselves with our new Social Justice Book Club.  Selected readings will be kept short for busy schedules and will include essays, long-form articles and selections from books. There are no easy answers, and checking your privilege is a necessity, but we welcome anyone who wants to engage in challenging and thoughtful discussion.

Good Time for the Truth

 

Our first book will be “A Good Time for the Truth: Race in Minnesota” edited by Sun Yung Shin.

Each month our discussion will focus on 1 or 2 stories from the book to allow ample time for deep discussion.

The Roseville Library has arranged with the authors to provide copies of the stories.

 

Here is a list of the scheduled dates for 2018 with the selected readings.  In January and February we will meet on Thursdays.  Beginning in March, the group will meet the first Tuesday of each month (except in August, which will be the 2nd Tuesday).

The meeting time is 7:00-8:30 p.m. in the Community Room at the Roseville Library.

Thursday, January 11        Introduction by Sun Yung Shin

Thursday, February 1        A Surrealist History of One Asian American in Minnesota by David Mura

Tuesday, March 6               With an “e” by Venessa Fuentes

Tuesday, April 3                  Trouble in Mind: To Be Black Is Blue in America by IBe

Tuesday, May 1                    TBD

Tuesday, June 5                   TBD

Tuesday, July 3                    TBD

Tuesday, August 14            TBD

Tuesday, September 4       TBD

Tuesday, October 2             TBD

Tuesday, November 6        TBD

Tuesday, December 4        TBD